Curiosity Kills Cats

So I suppose the big question is does curiosity really kill the cat?

Yes and no.

Yes: I’m a curious person. Often I find myself absorbed in so many interests that I can literally run myself ragged keeping up with my own fads.

No: Satisfaction always brings him back! There is nothing more rewarding than immersing myself in an experience, learning about it – all the while knowing that in all likelihood very soon I’ll be moving on to the next ‘big thing’ that’s caught my eye.

Friends and family are very familiar with my regular flights of fancy which take me cheese-making, vege gardening, attempting-recipes-light-years-beyond-my-skill-level, hindi lessons, jewellery making, furniture building, sewing, running, knitting, meditating.

I frequently kill my curiosity dead.

The excellent thing is, there is always more stuff I’m curious about, there isn’t an end to the list. If it’s new, creative or interesting I want to try it out and I want to share my tales of astonishing success and cataclysmic failure with anyone who is, or isn’t, interested.

I’m 34 and living in Sydney with a great flatmate and a beautiful tom cat Smokey. Also known as Mr Smokes; I often wonder if he thinks his other, other name is ‘Come on’. I can say with certainty that Smokey is not at risk of being killed by curiosity, but what he lacks in wonder he makes up for in majesty.

Smokey and his ‘where is my food’ face

I’m also a very lucky, gushing Aunty to the most ridiculously cute, nearly 2 year old on the planet. I am utterly captivated by her and her cuteness and cleverness and I just want to chew on her little cheeks she’s so cute!  No doubt I’ll share with you her clever capers and fantastically peculiar little ways in posts to come.

I’d love to hear what you think about the posts, your experiences – actually I’d love to hear from you about absolutely anything.  Leave a comment or two, tweet me @killcuriosity or email me at killcuriosity@gmail.com

Love lisa xx

4 thoughts on “Curiosity Kills Cats

  1. “Curiosity can do more things than kill a cat; and if emotions, well recognized as feminine, are inimical to feline life, then jealousy would soon leave the whole world catless.”
    Love it – give us more!

  2. My curiosity always gets the best of me! When I find something that piques my interest I google it to death, and when I meet someone for the first time I riddle them with so many questions about themselves they leave me thinking I’m some looney person.
    I love the idea of using coconut oil on my hair – it tends to get dry and frizzy. I’ll try it and see if it helps.

Leave a Reply

