The Honey, Nutmeg and Cinnamon Face Mask

If, like me, you’ve never liked honey and its musty flowery sweetness be prepared to change your mind!  Thanks to a random trip through Pinterest I’ve found the reason Honey was meant to be on earth.

Recipe


  • A small dessert spoon of honey, raw or organic is best but any honey will be fine
  • 
1tsp Nutmeg
  • 
1tsp Cinnamon

Mix it to a thick paste and you have a treatment so natural you can eat it!

Honey: 
Nature’s best, most amazing antibacterial. Honey, especially Manuka honey, has enough potency to kill so many of our everyday bacteria and even a few that are resistant to antibiotics.  This is serious face cleansing.  I simply used what was in the cupboard – Woolies Macro brand honey.

Nutmeg: 
As a topical application, nutmeg is an anti-inflammatory. Perfect for calming down hellish flare ups.

Cinnamon: 
Cinnamon amongst other things is a stimulant and getting the blood flowing is what all faces need. In this treatment it also works as an excellent exfoliant.

Tips:

  1. Make sure it’s a day you’re washing your hair.  After washing off my first treatment I noticed I still had bits of it in my ears.  Not one of my best looks!
  2. Keep the bowl and spoon you mixed the treatment in and keep the bowl under your chin. You can use the spoon to ‘top up’. Honey is viscous at room temperature, some are practically solid.  At body temperature, it is not.  Once it had been on my face for just a minute or two my chin was dripping runny honey.
  3. Don’t just wash it off, take advantage of the cinnamon and gently exfoliate. Avoid your eyes!
  4. Re-trace your steps, clean honey spots off floor before the ants pick up the scent.
  5. Moisturise – even though your face has been coated in gooey honey, it feels quite dry and tight once you’ve washed.  Use you night moisturiser and relish in how wonderful your face feels!

I love face masks where I can come home, whack it on, organise dinner, make my lunch for the next day, wash off, keep going. This is not that treatment, I will post it soon though.

Try it out and let me know how you go!

Lovelisaxx

Leave a Reply

