Sugar Free-ish Nutty Fudgey Chocolatey Goodness

Last week I started Sarah Wilson’s 8 week, I Quit Sugar program.  One week in and I’m going ok. I’m past the headache that lasted 4 days and I dare anyone to disagree with me that I’m past the moodiness. All is going well except I’ve been seriously craving chocolate.  It doesn’t happen often but when it does I’ve always given in citing antioxidants etc to justify the indulgence.

They say necessity is the mother of invention and yesterday necessity well and truly won me over. My Sunday afternoon was spent attempting to make good, sugar-free choices while in a trolley rally with half of Marrickville. All the while I seemed to have this magnetized pull to anything that appeared slightly sugary. Every single aisle of the supermarket is filled with sugar. I’d never noticed before but I was astounded.

At one point I bent down to grab a box of cling film, turned around to put it in the trolley and there in front of me, staring at me was a tin of Top ‘n’ Fill. I’d never even known this product existed and yet, there it was staring at me. And not just staring but staring and mocking! My trolley knew it too and it was on Top ‘n’ Fill’s side. From then on one of the wheels decided it always wanted to go south. After several apologetic clangs into old men and mothers with toddlers (note: no cute-guy-clangs) I lifted up the back and wheeled it on two wheels.
Win: Lisa 1 Trolley 0.

By the time I got out of there I had a fair idea of how I was going to attack a chocolatey, nutty, hit-the-spot recipe. I just didn’t think it would turn out this good.
Win: Lisa 2 Team Top ‘n’ Fill 0.

Check out the tips and peanut butter comparisons below before buying your ingredients.

What you need for Nutty Fudgey Chocolatey Goodness

  • 1/2 cup good coconut oil, melted – 0g sugar
  • ¼ cup Raw Organic Cacao – 0.33g
  • ¼ cup Peanut butter crunchy – 4.4g
  • 10 chopped up Brazil nuts – 0.6g
  • ¼ cup double or heavy cream – 0.6g
  • 1 ½ scoops low carb chocolate protein powder – 1.2g
  • ¼ cup linseed/flaxseed meal – 0.4g
  • Pinch of salt
  • Stevia to taste – this is optional if you’re not keen on dark chocolate. I’m not a dark chocolate fan and it tasted pretty perfect without it to me.
  1. Mix all ingredients together
  2. Line a small baking tray with baking paper
  3. Brush the baking paper with coconut oil
  4. Spread the mixture evenly
  5. Freeze for 5-10 minutes and store in the fridge
  6. Enjoy! But you probably won’t feel like any more after licking the bowl clean!

Tips

  • Coconut Oil: Don’t go with the oil you can buy in Woollies now, it doesn’t solidify as nicely as the organic oil from the health food store
  • Cacao: Check out LovingEarth products, they’re pretty good
  • Peanut Butter:
    • Don’t use light! You’re looking at adding an extra 2g of sugar at least
    • Check the sugar content of your peanut butter. You’re using ¼ cup and so it adds up quickly. I’ve done some research on ¼ cup with popular supermarket brands the results are below
  • Change up the recipe!  Use Walnuts or Macadamia nuts instead or add some shredded coconut or if you’re feeling luxurious add a dash of vanilla extract.  Just remember 1 tsp of vanilla extract = 3.1g of sugar

How a ¼ of a cup of peanut butter stacks up:

4.4g     Coles brand no added salt

4.6g     Woolworths Macro Organic brand

5.0g     Sanitarium no added sugar / salt crunchy

5.9g     Kraft Peanut butter

6.6g     Dick Smith Peanut butter

8.8g     Aldi Bramwell

Comparison with popular store bought chocolate

Nutty Fudgey Chocolatey Goodness:   3 cups of chocolate = 7.3g sugar
(I forgot to weigh it)

Cadbury almond chocolate:                  55g bar = 25.8g sugar  Holy!

Lindt Dark Chocolate 70% cocoa:       35g bar = 9.8g

Maltesers:                                              Rec. serving size 10 balls/25g = 13.8g

Ferrero Rocher:                                      Rec. serving size 1 ball = 4.9g

Leave a Reply

